Researcher Finalists

Cotton Seed Distributors Researcher of the Year

Stephen Yeates


Ayr, Qld

Steve has been a dedicated cotton research scientist for over 20 Steve Yeates Photoyears. He is most recognized for his contribution to tropical cotton research in the Ord and the Burdekin regions, however this research has broader application, particularly his work on irrigation techniques for Bollgard II. Steve is an engaging mentor to younger scientists and extension staff and has an exceptional ability to synthesize complex information into key messages, contributing significantly to on-farm decision making and general industry knowledge levels.

Sandra Williams

CSIRO Agricultural Flagship

Narrabri, NSW

Sandra Williams PhotoSandra is a highly dedicated experimental scientist within the CSIRO Agriculture Integrated Cotton Management Group with a primary focus of undertaking research to validate guidelines for cotton growth regulators, crop monitoring approaches and entomologic/insect threshold evaluation trials. She has a passion forIntegrated Pest Management and enjoys communicating the latest research findings with students, growers and industry members, both personally, as well as through vehicles such as cotton manuals, CottASSIST and the MyBMP.

Geoff Baker and Colin Tann

CSIRO Agriculture Flagship

Narrabri, NSW 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAColin Tann joined CSIRO at Narrabri over 20 years ago, joining with Geoff Baker in the late 1990’s. They have worked as a very effective and cohesive team for over 15 years with a focus on supporting stewardship for Bollgard II cotton, especially with refuge performance and refuge productivity at a field and regional level, random mating in Helicoverpa and ongoing research on Helicoverpa ecology. Their research findings have been critical in developing an ongoing understanding of the effectiveness of and challenges to the RMP and the long-term viability of BGII.

Celebrating the Stars of our Industry