Cotton Seed Distributors Researcher of the Year Award

Nominations are now open and will close on March 31, 2019. Nominate here during the nomination period.

Nominees can be an individual or team, from the government, not-for-profit or private sectors. Research may be defined as either short term research, which has provided industry impact in addressing a particular seasonal challenge(s) or a longer research project. Nominators MUST address clearly the following criteria and provide examples of their individual or team in support.


  • INNOVATION (30% of total score): List the three most innovative achievements from the research, development, or extension program that qualifies the individual/team for the Researcher of the Year Award.
  • IMPACT (40% of total score): Provide specific examples that demonstrate how the research, development, or extension program has delivered value for cotton growers, the Australian cotton industry, and the broader international research community.
  • COMMITMENT (30% of total score): Provide examples of how the individual/team has gone above and beyond the requirements of their research project to deliver benefit to the Australian cotton industry and broader research community.

Entry Requirements

  • Completed entry form
  • Written entry addressing each of the award criteria and additional supporting information
  • Whether or not it is a confidential nomination
  • Who is the key contact where the nomination is for more than one person
  • At least one digital image of the nominee/s

Nominations are assessed based on the written information provided during step one by the judging panel.  The judging panel then meets to assess the written nominations in April.  In some years the judging panel MAY choose to interview nominees face to face (at their discretion) or they may seek further details from the nominator.

The 2018 judging panel:

  • Chair of the Researcher Panel – Sally Ceeney (Cotton Australia)
  • CSD Representative – Phil Steel
  • 2018 Recipients – Dr Joseph Foley
  • Cotton Innovation Network Representative – TBA

The judging panel makes a determination on the recipient/s which is/are then announced at the Awards Dinner.

The three finalists are invited to attend the Cotton Awards Industry Dinner to be held during the Cotton Collective in Griffith on Wednesday 24th July..  They and their partner will be hosted by the sponsor of their category where the recipient will be announced. The  recipient will be required to make a two minute acceptance speech.

What are the rewards?
Whilst recognition for your hard work is always the best reward, the Cotton Industry Awards also provide other benefits to recipients:

  • every recipient receives a trophy and goes onto the Industry Honour Role
  • each category recipient goes on to be on the judging panel for the next year, assessing nominees for the 2020 Award
  • every finalist will receive two free tickets to attend the Awards Dinner, hosted by the category sponsor
  • each category recipient will receive $2,000 cash to spend how they like
  • Researcher of the Year recipient/s is eligible to receive a $3,500 bursary from Cotton Seed Distributors to support further research or career development.
  • Researcher of the Year is nominated for the International Cotton Researcher of the Year

What do I do next?

  1. Ensure you are familiar with the criteria and the supporting materials you require to make a nomination.
  2. When nominations are not confidential* speak to your nominee/s and enlist their help in developing the responses to the criteria and the supporting materials required.
  3. Collect at least one high quality digital photo of the nominee/s.
  4. Have all your nomination information ready and complete the on-line nomination form in one sitting (you cannot return to a partly completed nomination).
  5. Nominate here.

CLOSING DATE: March 31, 2019

* Some Researcher of the Year category nominations are confidential.

Celebrating the Stars of our Industry